I’m still here! But not for long

It’s been two and a half months since my last post, sorry to leave you guys for the summer!  But with fall comes that back-to-school feeling, and that feeling of “getting back to work” returns.  I have a pretty big announcement though…

I’m moving to Vancouver!

I’m so thrilled, I can’t even begin to explain it.  This summer gave me a lot to think about, what I wanted for myself, for my life, for my career.  I started realizing what I want in a home and in a relationship.  While I’m sad I have to leave so many amazing people in Toronto, I’m going to be living in a city I fell in love with last year.

On the drive home from Whistler. I've got a better camera now, and fully intend on taking better pictures!

Near the harbour, October 2010

I’m excited, thrilled, giddy, scared, nervous and calm all at the same time.  Every bone in my body knows this is the right choice.  So that’s one part of the news.  The other part is that I’ve got some clearer direction on what I want to go back to school for.  Since being blessed with my amazing job working for Marni Wasserman, I’ve realized my passion for food.  I hope to go back to school to get my natural chef certification in a couple of years.  Which to me, is almost more exciting than moving!  But that’s in the future.  Vancouver is in one month.  One.  Month.  Holy crap!!

But back to regular blog stuff.  I cooked up a storm amidst my excitement about writing this post.  Two recipes I MUST share:  Quinoa-Salsa-Bean Bake and Strawberry-Maple-Chocolate Muffins (wipe the drool off of your chin).

Quinoa Salsa Bean Bake

3/4 cup cooked quinoa

1/2 tomato, chopped

1/4 cup onion, chopped

3/4 cup cooked beans (I used mung beans)

3/4 cup salsa (I had some amazing homemade salsa from my sisters boyfriends mother… I hope they get married, this salsa was delicious!)

Topped with Angela’s Quick and Dirty Cheeze Sauce (I only had sweetened vanilla almond milk, and would definitely recommend getting plain unsweetened like the recipe says)

Layer all ingredients (in said order) in a greased casserole dish (increase or decrease amounts as you see fit, I used what I had room for).  Bake for 20-30 minutes at 350F. I serve it over some thick cucumber slices (I had a nachos vision in my head, using cuc’s instead of chips).  Makes enough for three servings.  You best believe it’s my lunch tomorrow!  It isn’t my most creative dish, but I’m kind of on a use-whatevers-still-in-my-cupboards thing right now.

Strawberry Maple Chocolate Muffins

3/4 cup whole spelt flour

1/2 cup coconut flour

2 tbsp coconut oil

2 tbsp apple sauce

1/3-1/2 cup chopped strawberries

1/4 cup chocolate chips

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp maple extract

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp sea salt

~1/4 cup xylitol (a new ingredient for me… it’s a redwood tree sugar, cooks, tastes and bakes like sugar with no blood sugar impact and low in calories)

1 tbsp chia + 3 tbsp almond milk/water

1. Preheat oven to 350.  Mix dry ingredients together in a medium size bowl.

2. Mix wet ingredients together in a larger bowl, and add in dry.

3.  Scoop in greased muffin tray and bake for about 15-20 minutes.  Makes about 6 muffins.

One response

  1. Pingback: Weeding Out Negativity: It’s YOUR Choice | Abigail Christens

Leave a Reply

